Half-Day Private Trip to Sigulda and Turaida from Riga
Visit of Sigulda Medieval Castle and Turaida Castle in comfort of private modern vehicle with English speaking driver. Great way to spend half day in one of most beautiful places near Riga.
per adult from
Hotel pickup available
What's included :
- English speaking driver
- Hotel pickup and drop-off
- Private trip
- Transport by air-conditioned minivan
What's excluded :
- Food and drinks
- Museum entrances
- Entry/Admission - Old Sigulda Castle
- Entry/Admission - Turaida Castle
- This is a typical itinerary for this product
Stop At: Old Sigulda Castle, Pils Street 18, Sigulda 2150 Latvia
Sigulda Medieval Castle ruins are located on the edge of the Gauja valley in Latvia. The original castle was built in 1207 as a castellum type fortress, later rebuilt into a convent type building. It was the residence of the Land Marshal of the Livonian Order since 1432.
At the very beginning of the Livonian war, Sigulda Medieval Castle was damaged. In 1562 it became a part of the Duchy of Livonia and from 1566 the residence of the governor of Livonia.
At the end of the 16th century, the Poles repaired the castle and its surrounding buildings. During the Polish – Swedish war the castle was seriously damaged. After the war, the Swedes reported that the castle was empty and destroyed. In the 1622 it was again restored and a new residential building and sauna were built. In 1737 Sigulda became a private estate. It was first the property of the Governor of Livland.
In the 19th century the castle and its layout were remodeled and a gate, inscribed with the year 1867, was added to the front part of the castle.The gate tower surrounding the inner castle building was decorated with the Borch family coat of arms. Finally, between 1878 and 1881, a new castle was built by Prince Kropotkin’s family.
After World War I with the establishment of independent Republic of Latvia, the ruins have been under the auspices of the Monument Board. In depth research and renovation of Sigulda castle began in 1962. Measurements were made of the construction plan, facade and wall details. A topographic plan of the castle and its surrounding was created in 1978. Archaeological excavations of the ruins were supervised by Normunds Treijs from 1987 to 1988 and by Jānis Ciglis in 1997. In 2011, the European Union co-sponsored a project designed to assist with the renovations. It was officially titled “Reconstruction of Sigulda Castle Ruins and Infrastructure Adjustment for Tourism Development” and successfully concluded in 2012.
Duration: 1 hour
Stop At: Turaida Castle, Sigulda Latvia
Turaida castle dominates the Museum Reserve and is visually, its most impressive element. When seen from the air, or the opposite bank of the river Gauja in Sigulda, Turaida castle rises above the trees like mighty ship built of red brick.
Building of the castle was started in 1214, upon directions given by Albert, Archibishop of Riga to his Livonian Brothers of the Sword (soon to merge with the Teutonic Order) at the place where previously had stood the wooden castle of Liv.
The castle was constructed largely in the classic red-brick construction of the Baltic crusading orders. Improving the castle's defensive system continued in later centuries, and in the 14th century, the tower shaped southern section was built; at the beginning of the 15th century, when fire arms were invented, the semi rounded western tower was built.
Minor reconstruction work was carried out in 17th century although the castle started to lose its strategic importance. After a fire in 1776 it was abandoned and gradually became ruinous.
By the beginning of the 20th century, only separate fragments of the defensive wall and some buildings – the main tower, semi-rounded tower and the western section, were left. From 1976 regular archaeological excavations were carried out, which were followed by restoration and conservation works revealing the castle's earlier state. Exhibitions about the history of the brick castle and Gauja Livs are available in restored buildings. From the viewing place of the main tower, you can see the unique landscape of picturesque Gauja Gauja valley and the territory of Turaida Museum Reserve.
Duration: 1 hour
Departure Point :Traveler pickup is offered
We will pickup and return from Hotel or address in Riga city.Airports
- Riga Airport, Riga Latvia
- Riga Passenger Terminal
Return Detail :-
Hotel Pickup :
- Confirmation will be received at time of booking
- Children must be accompanied by an adult
- Please bring your walking shoes
- Coffee stops and detours can be arranged with driver
- Not wheelchair accessible
- Stroller accessible
- Service animals allowed
- Infant seats available
- Most travelers can participate
- This is a private tour/activity. Only your group will participate
- You can present either a paper or an electronic voucher for this activity.
- For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.